beckcat asked: You can buy powdered gravy that is beef or chicken flavored, but no animal in it c: same with some soups/ramen. Also how can you tell if cheese has rennet in it? I check but it usually says microbial enzymes or just enzymes. it really confuses me..
It’s hard to tell about rennet. It is very helpful when packages say “animal derived enzymes” or something, other than that just research products online if you use them a lot. I’ve never seen something meat flavored that didn’t contain animal product, so what gravy powder specifically are you using?
sunflower-milk asked: is mayonaise vegetarian?
Yes, there are eggs so it isn’t vegan, but it is vegetarian and I’ve never heard of any mayonnaise companies putting gelatin in it or anything, so.
icanhasajasmine asked: I just read a question someone asked you about mcdonalds fries not being vegetarian because of beef flavoring. They DO NOT use beef flavoring. where the hell did you get that idea from? oh and thank you for constantly ignoring my questions? why do you have an ask box if you never reply?
At least in the US, beef flavoring is in the ingredients, so that’s where I got that idea from. I have a lot of questions and a lot of things to do, and a lot of people who ask questions a lot nicer than this, so that’s probably why.
eatcleantrainhard asked: In regards to the ask about what strict vegetarian means. A strict vegetarian isnt only soneone who avoids rennet and gelatin (since most vegetarians do). It is someone who does not consume meat, dairy, or eggs. Its not the same as vegan though because they may still consume traces of animal products that appear in processed foods or recipes. They also may not pay attention to whether their cosmetics, etc are cruelty free. Its what you are if youre not a lacto-ovo, lacto, or ovo vegetarian. :)
diffferentlsbeautlful asked: Is it just me or do other people also get annoyed when people tell you they are thinking about going vegetarian only for a dietary purpose... I mean, I weigh 161 pounds and I'm 16, and I don't eat meat..
It doesn’t bother me at all! I support anyone going vegetarian for any healthy reason, and I really respect people who try to be healthier in such a morally sound way! However, I do not support vegetarianism as a sort of eating disorder, which is a thing that happens. But yeah, I don’t feel the need to judge someone’s reason for going vegetarian. It helps people be healthier because there are less vegetarian fast food options, the diet naturally includes more fruits and vegetables, etc.
However you say that as if there’s something wrong with being vegetarian and weighing more than like 2 pounds, and there’s not.
so-so-lovely asked: One time this obnoxious kid in my class made cupcakes for everyone in class except me and a friend of mine who happened to be vegetarian as well. She said if we didn't eat good food like meat on a regular basis we didn't deserve to eat her cupcakes. All three of us got in detention for yelling at each other in class.
Okay now I get what you’re saying, that’s really ridiculous.
joshuayy asked: Are you based in the US? Because most of the things your talking about like rennet, Mcdonalds fries and gravy are veggie (for the most part) in the UK
Yeah I live in the US
im-her-lesbian asked: Saw the ask about gravy and just wanted to add that some gravy is vegetarian. Gravy granules (not all but some) sometimes contain artificial flavouring and have no other animal products that animals die while its being harvested. Personally I don't eat gravy because I don't like it but I have checked the ones that my mom buys and some are suitable for veggies.
Yes there are vegetarian gravies. At least where I buy groceries they don’t have any vegetarian gravy. I had to shop for thanksgiving with my mom and none of the gravies were meatless. You can make homemade gravy that is vegetarian.
so-so-lovely asked: Oh, in Texas it gets to be outright discrimination sometimes. It's a little ridiculous, being given the short end of the stick for things over such a stupid issue as whether or not you eat meat, but it happens.
Can you give me an example of this discrimination so I know exactly what y’all are using the word to mean because maybe I’m just missing something