Anonymous asked: I have been a vegetarian since birth and recently I have been thinking about joining the military. Can I still be a vegetarian if I am in the military
Anonymous asked: To the person who asked about fishing, I used to go fishing almost every weekend when I was little, it was a favorite sport. I usually only caught tiny fish (and then I'd throw them back) so it never bothered me much. Until once when I caught this HUGE eel. I never really went again after that? It grossed me out. idk. I say try it once or go with friends who do it.
olivesnpitchforks asked: To the anon who had conflicting feelings about fishing - while I don't like fishing, my dad (a vegetarian) adores it. He does catch-and-release, and he uses hooks without barbs and stuff, which I hear is better
eipi-1 asked: I just wanted to respond to something diemetzgermeister said, in response to an anon re: the raw food diet. I don't meant to start an argument here, but what they said about cooking food destroying nutrients isn't exactly accurate. In fact, much of the food we eat (think meat, potatoes, starchy vegetables, corn) need to be cooked first because our body cannot digest the compounds that...
diemetzgermeister asked: to the anon who said "the whole thing about cooking your food is to be able to fully profit from the energy in it and be able to digest it." - no, no. You don't understand the concept of a raw diet at all. It's COOKING food that kills the energy and nutrients. Eating raw helps you get more out of what you eat and is better digestion wise. I don't agree with fruitarism...
Anonymous asked: I'm a vegan who is all about animal rights and stuff, but I really want to try fishing, and it's very conflicting...
daddyfr0gg asked: This is a response to a question several weeks back about the cochineal bug and to one a couple months back about Skittles. In addition to the names you listed in a previous post, you will also find cochineal in the ingredients list as "carmine". This is the most common name for it that I've seen. You will find it in Skittles (I presume in the red and maybe the purple ones) and...
Anonymous asked: For the person about the cheese that said vegetarian friendly but had rennet... there is some rennet that's not animal based. It can be vegetable or microbial. There's a thing on it on Trader Joe's. You have to go to the Products & Guides, scroll down to the Handy Products List and click on Vegetarian. On the side bar on the right, there's a "For The Culinarily...
Anonymous asked: Panera's broccoli and cheddar soup has meat in it?
Anonymous asked: To the anon about eating at a friends house, it's also just best to let them know up front that you're vegetarian. Let your friend know so they can tell their parents so it isn't awkward at the dinner table. Suggest you bring something before hand so they are prepared for it, and aren't offended. It's all better if everyone just knows, so they don't feel terrible for...
l0-lee-ta-deactivated20120918 asked: (C) so that I can stay being a vegetarian, I just cant be super strict in my vegetarianism because my parents don't want me to restrict my eating any more than I already do from not eating meat. I wish I could cut out those products but at this time I cant. So it sucks to have people make me feel like I'm inferior to them because I struggled with an eating disorder. Just something to...
l0-lee-ta-deactivated20120918 asked: Hi again! I've been going through this blog all morning and I notice so many people being really mean about people calling themselves vegetarians when they still eat gelatin, rennet, & other byproducts. Please keep in mind that those people aren't always just lazy or not committed; I've been a vegetarian for 4.5 years and I used to refrain from eating those things but I also...
Anonymous asked: Freelea is a really cool raw vegan/frutarian who makes really good videos on Youtube, and her website explains frutarianism. You should check her out :)
Anonymous asked: Fruitarianism (?) isn't healthy at all.. since your teeth will start to fall out. Fruit is full of sugar! It is often a part of a raw food diet, something I find strange.. the whole thing about cooking your food is to be able to fully profit from the energy in it and be able to digest it.
l0-lee-ta-deactivated20120918 asked: A fru)tarian is like a vegan but in addition to not eating any animal products, they also refrain from eating vegetables because you're still killing a plant. What defines a fruit is that you can pick off one and it doesn't kill the whole plant, whereas vegetables if you take a carrot out of the ground, the whole thing is dead. I don't fully get it but it's quite interesting....
Anonymous asked: what kind of vegetarian are you? are you ovo or lacto or ovo-lacto or just a normal vegetarian
Anonymous asked: Why are you not a fruitarianism or a Vegan?
Anonymous asked: You know when you're eating dinner at someone's house and their mother is like "why aren't you eating anything?" and then you say "Oh uh...I'm a vegetarian." And then she scans over the table and either gets really offended or suggests you to pick out the meat in things/eat things that were cooked with the meat because "it won't kill you" yeah...
vanna--elbowdeepinclay asked: About Panera, most Panera's list what soups are vegetarian. The ones that are vegetarian are the black bean, garden vegetable, and creamy tomato. Vegan ones are black bean and garden vegetable if asked for without the pesto.
Anonymous asked: i just read your answer about panera, and i did the same thing except it happened to me a alot. the broccoli cheddar soup was what i always used to order from panera, because I asked one of the workers if there was nay meat in it and she said no. Needless to say, I was PISSED when I found out, especially because I had been told it was meatless.
threeisacrowdx asked: I've been raised a vegetarian, never eaten meat in my life and I'm a healthy woman of 6" tall. It's not about whether you eat meat or not, I believe it's about getting enough of all the nutrients one needs. A vegetarian 'diet' is not about leaving out meat, but about eating everything that is not meat.
morbid-demonstration asked: "Emulsifier" is like artificial flavours, they have different numbers to go with them to represent a different emulsifier. So some are suitable for Vegetarians, some aren't, and some are either/or. For example, emulsifier 471 may contain animal products, it depends what it's used for, where it was made etc. :)
Anonymous asked: I have some cheese in my fridge and it says 'suitable for vegetarians' on it, but then I checked out there website and there's a recipe for how they make their cheese, and a whole step is about adding rennet- surely this makes it not vegetarian?!
thathealthyveggiekid asked: for emulsifiers; if the product is labelled veggie friendly then it will always be from a plant extract... if not then it will be from an animal
c-0n-fu-nd-us asked: Do you post every submittion?
Anonymous asked: What have you or would you say to someone that says 'eating meat is the circle of life' and that 'you're just trying to be a hipster'? I seem to get this a lot and it's really getting on my nerves because I disagree with both statements.
Anonymous asked: I regularly eat meat about 14 times a week. How can i "ween" myself off of meat.
Anonymous asked: What are some advantages about becoming a vegetarian?
Anonymous asked: I am a mother to a 4 month old child,Is it safe and healthy for her to be a vegetarian? I am afraid that she will not have enough nutrients.
thefrillyqueer asked: I am approaching my three year date, I want to do something special to celebrate, any ideas? I was thinking of being fancy and buying a tofurky roast (they still have them for ale off season at my grocery store) and being fancy as fuck.
Anonymous asked: I have been vegetarian/pescatarian for over 2 and a half years now. Recently I switched from pescatarian to vegetarian due to training for a 5k. Do you know of any protein powders that are vegetarian?
Anonymous asked: dude, last week I was eating a cheese esfiha (sorry, I'm from another country and I don't know if it have in yours) and it had ham on it, in the middle, fuck. I was so angry! why? why the motherf*cker has to put it on thereee??! argh. well, I felt so bad after that... Have you ever pass anything similiar? Do you have any advice about it? D: and, omg, forgive my english
Anonymous asked: So this is gonna sound REALLY stupid- but today for the first time I saw meat before it was cooked... and I was weirded out- my first reaction was "Holy polished turds WHY is it covered in blood?!" I've seen dead animals before, and I've always been grossed out that someone would eat that- but I try to follow a paleo diet so that I will always my protein... should I just go...
Anonymous asked: emulsifier. can we vegetarians eat that? is it a problem... idk, like, it is comes from animal? forgive my ignorance
roamin-catholics asked: i think this has been asked before but are there any guy vegetarians out there? i feel like i'm the only one :/
Anonymous asked: A majority of my friends are vegetarians, and one is a vegan, and I'm the 'that guy' that eats meat when we're all hanging out. I get extremely uncomfortable to eat anything around them. Is that silly of me?
Anonymous asked: Last night I went to Burger King and ordered a veggie burger and the guy asked me if I wanted bacon or chesse on it.
myblack-is-beautiful asked: I would read it:) Youre in high school?
I wrote a research paper about vegetarianism for...
I’m considering posting it on here but 1. No one will probably read it and 2. I’m so full of myself I assume someone will like steal it and plagiarize it or something, I don’t know. Do y’all care to read it? Speaking of school- It’s almost over! Meaning I’ll soon have time to uncrappify this blog and sort out the admins mess and there will be actual posts.
Anonymous asked: you say no one who applied seems to be available, but i am and never got a message.. (and, i did get one of the ''callback'' messages aswell) so, what is up with that?
Anonymous asked: do you need more applicants for it?:)
Anonymous asked: About smores... Why won't vegetarian's eat them? I read the packaging and they are not made from animals.... neither are graham crackers... or chocolate... unless you count the dairy and I thought only vegans did that...
sweet--tides asked: I need some help from you guys and your followers. I'm going on a school trip next week, and they always feed you fast food and lots of unhealthy stuff. I'm a vegetarian so this is going to be a problem. I'm planning on taking some nuts, energy bars, granola, stuff like that. Do you guys have any ideas of things that don't need to be refrigerated that I could pack and take with...
quornqueen asked: Love the blog!:) Ive been a vegetarian for a while and I'm fourteen, so that person who said they're struggling because they're a teen- its not really all that hard! go with your heart and make the best descisions for you and the creatures and people around you. <3
Anonymous asked: Do you know anything about the insect 'cochineal'? it is used in some food to 'give' the color red, right?
Anonymous asked: i want to be a vegetarian but i am a teen help!