Today I had someone shove meat in my face. I was looking away while she was lavishly eating it for a reason, why did she think it was appropriate to shove a dead animal in my face? I’ve been a vegetarian for a year and that was the first time someone has been super rude about it.
I don’t know why people think that that is funny, it’s really disgusting. Did you talk to her about it? Let them know that it was not okay so they don’t do it again. It can be really frustrating and upsetting, but the person probably didn’t think.
As weird as it is, only some Skittles contain gelatin. Ones in the bag have gelatin, and ones that can be found in a box, that I have found at least, don't. You can check the ingredients on the ones in the box and they say "Gelatin free"
Okay, about the whole skittles thing. Yes, they no longer contain gelatin, but the thing is that their company Wrigley Jr., and their parent company Mars Candy still test on other animals (humans are animals too) So they are still not vegetarian. Mars does some very very horrible things to other animals!!
This is a thing vegetarians frequently forget! Like you could probably find something at KFC with no animal products, but you should never give such a cruel company your business! I kind of feel that way about all fast food restaurants, honestly.
I don't think the "social vegetarian" thing is bad. It's called being "flexitarian" and it means that you prefer to eat vegetarian, but if you are causing an inconvenience to a host, you will eat meat. People like that usually don't claim to be part of a cause or claim to be vegetarians.
Well, as long as they “don’t claim to be part of a cause or claim to be vegetarians” it’s fine, but I don’t know how anyone could aim to become a moral vegetarian and then continue to eat meat just cause it’s easier.
i've been a vegetarian for years and know i will be for the rest of my life (maybe even vegan) but my boyfriend isn't, i haven't had a problem with this but the other day he told me he was going to go hunting. just killing things for fun, and it makes me so sad but i don't know what to say to him without making him feel like i'm trying to control him..
It can definitely be hard to hear about people hunting, especially when it’s someone close to you! It’d be nice if everyone could have the same kind, humane perspectives on the subject as most vegetarians, but that just isn’t the case. You should tell him how you feel politely and make it very clear that you aren’t trying to force your beliefs on him. However, if he isn’t trying to force it on you or trying to make you feel bad about it or something, just respect his preferences as you expect him to respect yours.
Love your site, the thing is you have an uphill battle because for every decent normal vegetarian like you there are 50 - lets face it - ultra radical raving types who just go OTT and alienate everyone. You get tarred with the same brush, which is a shame.
I’m glad you like the blog! I wouldn’t denounce my entire community like that, however. I think there is an overwhelming majority of genuinely friendly vegetarians and vegans, with a few bad seeds trying to spoil the bunch.
I want to be vegan but for the past 6 months or so my doctor has told me I have to be at most "peskavegan" (no meat, dairy, eggs but I do eat fish) because of protein..I can't have soy, gluten, or peanuts. What can I do? I want to stop eating fish but I don't know if it's possible...
Certainly don’t do anything that is going to compromise your health! It seems as if you have specific health issues causing your doctor to suggest that diet, so all I could suggest is to see if you can get a second opinion from another doctor. I’d love to think that there is a way for every person to become vegetarian regardless of medical problems, but you should never jeopardize your health. Any steps towards cutting back on animal products are extremely commendable!
I've been a pescatarian (I also dont drink milk or eat eggs) for a little over a year now but my family isn't and they don't understand why I'am one even after so long. I want to stop eating fish but they would get really mad at me. Do you have any tips on telling my parents or explaining to them that I want to become a full on vegetarian? Thanks love the blog :)
I can’t give you advice to defy your parents, and I don’t know your parents personally so I don’t how they’ll react, but just try to slowly and patiently inform them about vegetarianism as a practice, explain to them your reasoning behind it, and assure them that you know what you’re doing and you will stay healthy. Most parents are just worried about your health and want the best for you, so just be patient and understanding!
(Post for others) You don't need to take B12 pills. People get all freaked out about B12, when really the amount we need daily is teeny tiny. Hell, a medium sized red bull (red bull is vegan btw) will give you over what you need of it. Also, fortified cereals and soy/almond milk has it as well. c:
New favorite side EVER is pan roasted curry and garlic green beans. Its super easy! All you need are 1 - 2 cups frozen or fresh green beans, 1-2 cloves garlic, 1 tsp curry powder, and a splash of olive oil and soy sauce with a pinch of cayenne pepper or red pepper flakes. You just heat the beans up, then add the sliced garlic, oil and soy sauce. Mix in the spices, salt and pepper to taste and voila! gourmet asian eastern healthy side. Usually about 100-150 cal!
Re: B12: You can find veggie-friendly supplements, including B12. I had somewhat low iron even before going veggie, and drinking so much tea doesn't help. I got tired of being turned away from donating blood (and feeling anemic), so I found a vegan iron pill at a local health food store. They carry several brands that don't use gelatin in their pills, for fairly cheap ($5/60 days). I've never looked into B12 , but I searched the internet and it seems like they would be just as easy to get : )
So, about the gelatin thing... I think the dots also hast it, not sure, but like if I want to buy a product, and I look for the ingredients to see if it has it (yogurt/gum/marshmallow,etc) It will say gelatin? Or there is like another "scientific" name for it?
As far as I know it will always be shown as gelatin
i have recently became a vegetarian about a month ago why am i so tired and is it because i am not eating the right things?
Probably! Definitely need to sort out your nutrition, possibly even with a doctor if you’re feeling drowsy. Eat less junk food and more fruits and vegetables. Make sure your intake of iron and protein rich foods is reasonable.
To all the vegetarians that eat cheese from the regular grocery store in the us, None of it (except some cream cheese) is Vegetarian friendly, unless it is FDA approved vegetarian, enzymes aren't vegetarian unless stated "vegetable enzymes."
Why there is so many vegetarian/vegans who asks what some thing contains. I am pretty sure you can read the description of the food before you buy it or ask the worker of for example restaurant etc etc
I don’t know, it’s not that easy to find out about things sometimes I guess. I like helping, though. It makes me feel useful so I don’t mind.
What do you think are like the top 5 most filling foods to eat
Just a few foods are different soups especially lentil, chunky vegetable, black bean, (if you’re looking for easy and filling, throw some amy’s canned soup over a bag of microwave whole wheat rice,) veggie pizza, beans and rice, quinoa with anything, veggie pizza, vegetables and pasta, etc.
Here I go again! I am super curious about cheese and yogurt, my two favourite things. Is it bad that I eat them? It there gelatin/rennet in all cheeses/yogurts? I really want to become a "better" vegetarian, but that is quite difficult living with a family full of carnivores and not buying your own groceries, because anytime I tell my mother that I can't eat something, she just is extremely rude and inconsiderate about it. :P
I don’t think that is bad, no. I’m pretty sure chobani Greek yogurt does not contain gelatin. In fact, most Greek yogurt shouldn’t contain gelatin because of the way that it’s made, plus Greek yogurt is higher in protein and other nutrients. Just check the ingredients on the brand of yogurt you eat and see if gelatin is listed. As far as rennet, just check the ingredients on any choose you use and be cautious of what you order at restaurants.
^-^i enoy a spicy vegetarian wrap from mcdonalds whenever me and my friends go, i love how the vegetarian option is comming onto the menu. it's a wrap, with a spicy veggie burger, which i thought was chicken at first because of its breaded appearance, but its actually stuffed with mushrooms and other veggies, then theres mayo (which i beleive is free range, if its approved by the VS), and diffrent peppers.
I've been a vegetarian for over 20 months now. I take veg vitamins & try my best to avoid gelatin and always read labels. But, lately I've been thinking about becoming more strict and keeping an 80% vegan diet and only eating dairy if it's organic. This is probably stupid seeing as I could probably just google this shit, but typically organic dairy does not contain rennet & what not, correct?
I don’t think that will be true in all cases. If you want to be sure just go for vegan cheese and soy milk, otherwise you’ll just have to find a specific brand at your local grocery store that does not lose enzymes as an ingredient
I've been vegetarian for 3 months now. I'm happy of my choice, I'm trying lots of new foods for me (some kind of vegetables, soya, seitan, etc.) and I like it! I don't really pay attention to all the things like proteins, omegas, etc. but I have a more equilibrate diet now than before, for sure.
The Vegetarian Society in the UK visit where everything's made and check them out, they don't just take the companies word for it. It might differ in different McDonalds, but I know that in the McDonalds that I work in, I know that the veggie burgers are kept and cooked seperately, as are chips.
To the anon - I'm from UK and nothing from McDonalds is vegetarian/vegan friendly as it's all cooked together, and the milkshakes (which have 60 ingredients in them alone) and ice cream have animal fat. They'll state it as vegetarian friendly, I've witness otherwise. Plus, do you really trust a company like McDonalds to truly care about vegetarians/vegans? Its easier just to cook yourself in the long run or buy things with specific, listed ingredients!
Not sure about elsewhere, but I know that in the UK, chips (fries), spicy deli veggie burger (it was approved by the UK Vegetarian Society this May) and all of the milkshakes are vegetarian. :) Onion rings aren't though </3
US mcdonalds don’t even sell veggie burgers. It seems as if UK restaurants and brands are more accommodating than US.
straight from the Mcddonalds FAQ --> "McDonald's does not represent any of our foods as being vegetarian. However, we gladly accommodate customer requests to custom-order items without meat (i.e., without beef, pork, chicken or fish). Note that even though we provide the flexibility to order items without meat, we cannot guarantee that during preparation the item does not come into contact with meat or poultry." not veggie. there are only 2 vegan items on the menu, BBQ sauce, & low fat granola
Taurine is not cow vomit. It's an essential amino acid in cats and can be found in all types of meat (which is why cats are carnivores--they NEED taurine to survive and function). You don't feed your cats cow vomit. It's a constituent of bile, but it's not necessarily cow vomit.