Anonymous asked: How do I explain to people that 1) gravy isn't vegetarian, their argument is that it isn't technically meat and 2) that just because I don't eat gelatin that doesn't make me a vegan, I still eat eggs and milk. Help me talk to stupid people !
1. Gravy is not vegetarian because it is made of meat. You take an animal carcass and you let it sit and cook down and all the dead animal juices and dead animal pieces and dead animal matter is poured over food and while it may not be considered literal meat it is very clearly an animal product.
2. The making of gelatin requires an animal to die, as it is the made of the skeleton and muscle-y fragments of dead animals. There is no way you could produce gelatin without killing the animal, and it is a direct product of an animal so it is not vegetarian. Eggs and milk can be harvested without killing the animal (though the dairy industry does generally result in the death of the animals) so it is vegetarian but it still requires the involvement of some form of animal suffering so it is not vegan.
How to talk to stupid people: Usually people are just ignorant, as in they don’t have the knowledge so you need to offer it to them. Be patient, be blunt, and if they’re just choosing to be rude and therefore “stupid” then let it go.
dying-for-pefection asked: Why aren't Mcdonald's fries vegetarian?
foldingshams asked: I used to eat meat up until I was 16. During that time I was anemic which meant I didn't have enough iron in my blood. After becoming vegetarian, my anemia was completely gone and I felt 100 times better. I felt healthier and I became more active because I didn't feel weighed down by meat. Now that I have become vegan, however, I lost 20 pounds in 4 months and I've never felt healthier. :)
I’m glad you feel so much healthier and aren’t having anemia problems! I love hearing success stories. That’s also really interesting because most people experience more anemia after going vegetarian due to unhealthy diets. I’m glad you obviously did such a great job being a healthy vegetarian! Cheers
Anonymous asked: I live in Texas(the beef state) and I am a vegetarian in Houston. I just find it annoying how much discrimination we receive in the world today from non vegetarians. Especially Texas. -_-
I feel like I wouldn’t really call it discrimination. I don’t know, but yeah it must be hard being a vegetarian in such a meat oriented place!
Anonymous asked: This is my one year anniversary of becoming a vegetarian! It was my new years resolution last year and the best choice i ever made. This blog has helped me so much this past year so I just wanted to say thank you and everyone else who has posted on this blog! Have a happy 2013!!! :)
That’s so awesome! Congratulations on one year I’m so glad to hear that you’re happy with your decision and that the blog helped at all! Happy 2013!
Anonymous asked: I've been a vegetarian for a little more than two years and I've just now learned what rennet is. And that's gross. And I just found out my favorite salad dressing and candy contain gelatin. It is a sad day on planet veggie.
Sorry to hear that! Hope you can find some veggie alternatives
Anonymous asked: One time I offered food to my friend and she looked at the wrapper and said she couldn't eat it because it had gelatin in it...but she eats regular cheese.
Well I guess she chooses to not eat gelatin but still eat rennet. It’s much easier to avoid gelatin than it is to avoid rennet. I don’t see a problem with that.
Anonymous asked: If I'm technically a Pescetarian, can I still call myself a Vegetarian? or is that sort of cheating
Well you can call yourself whatever you want but by definition a vegetarian does not eat meat and a pescetarian does eat meat so it isn’t semantically correct. But I mean if you’re at a restaurant or something and you don’t want to order fish you can tell the waiter ”Oh I’m a vegetarian so” whatever just because people don’t usually no what pescetarianism is. But otherwise I wouldn’t say that it’s cheating necessarily as much as it’s lying.
Anonymous asked: what is your opinion on clothes with some fake fur on it?
Fake fur isn’t really my style but I don’t see anything morally wrong with wearing it
Anonymous asked: you are wrong. if a person eats gelatin, then they are not even vegetarian. you have to kill an animal to produce it. and what do you mean by occasionally avoiding animal products? you either do it or not. and a strict vegetarian is a person who follows a vegan "diet" but not lifestyle, wears leather, wool, etc.
“you are wrong” is one of the best opening lines of an ask I think I’ve ever gotten just getting straight to the point I like your style kid. I said that someone who uses the term “strict vegetarian” would be specifying someone who doesn’t eat gelatin or rennet, because obviously someone who feels the need to specify “strict” is recognizing some sort of inconsistency in the vegetarian diet. I never stated that gelatin is vegetarian and I am not opening this argument on the blog again.